Mr. President

Disclaimer: This is my personal opinion and is in no way meant to belittle or criticize others for their views on the issue. I welcome your input  down in the comments below 🙂

On January 20, 2017, Donald J. Trump was inaugurated as the 45th president of the United States. This was as a result of a vote cast by the American people, a result that personally upsets me because I cannot respect a man as the leader of my country, if he cannot respect me in return. His isolationist proposals to distance ourselves from Mexico, his shocking outlawing of abortion, and his blatant disregard and disrespect for women and people of color (both of which I fall into) is revolting. I really don’t understand how anyone, president or not, could stand to outlaw a medical procedure that saves rape victims from deadly consequences of their misfortune, and saves unborn children from living a life his or her parents are not prepared to build for them.

In the area I live in, Western Washington, the majority of the population is liberal and does not support Trump or his policies, but of course, Trump supporters reside in my hometown as well. I see panic and protests near my home; there are shootings and rowdy fights in and outside the city. I see my friends fearing for the stability of their family, scared of being targeted because of their race. Most shocking of all, is I see the effect that comes from a bully using his position to get away with the things he says. Does he not realize, that in casually calling people by scrutinizing and racist names, he gives permission to the younger generation to do the same? Does he not realize that the people he stereotypes and bullies, are the people he now has a responsibility to take care of, and aid? Now people everywhere are watching incident after incident on TV as the chaos slowly starts to unfold a mere week after the inauguration. I, however, trying to be as optimistic as I can (within my own political ideals and views), have a different take on this matter.

Yes, Donald Trump is a man I cannot respect, though I would like to be able to. Yes, his disrespect for the majority of the American people is one that does not morally earn him the position of President. But while the election has led American society into a temporarily disrupted and uneasy state, this tremor is waking up society as a result. I mean, just look at the Women’s Marches that took place across the nation. Look at all the women (many of whom were previously unable to confidently raise their voices) who found a hope and a unity in their communities and stood up for themselves. Look at all the mothers, daughters, aunts, sons, uncles, husbands, and wives who came together to raise a unified voice and show support for one another. I think that knowing it is possible to bring together over 1 million people like that is powerful, and it brings us together as a national and global community.

I apologize that this went a bit long, but my point is this: the first step is recognizing a problem, but the next step is reaching out and doing something to address the issue. And after so long, America is finally waking up to the realization that they are in the midst of taking that second step, and in coming together as a nation, we the people can achieve a greater good than any President can legislate.

– Ro

One thought on “Mr. President

  1. Really great post, this isn’t the first post I’ve read today about Donald Trump and it probably won’t be the last. I hate that your own president (I write without the capital P because he doesn’t even deserve that much) is making you feel this way. But you’re right, I have been astounded by how it’s woken up not only your country but the entire world. I live in the UK and we are currently petitioning against Donald Trump being allowed to come here for a state visit. Which is when he gets to come and visit the queen, stay in Buckingham Palace and address our government in parliament. As if we want his messed up views affecting the views of our government! I think it’s outrageous and absolutely mad to still have him as the president, surely there a rules against such behaviour? As you said, he is discriminating against quite a big proportion of his country, that being, anyone who isn’t male, white, rich and heterosexual – and as you said, how can there be a president who bullies a huge majority of the human race? It’s madness. I feel a bit like we’re living in the hunger games. It’s only a matter of time before all these unwanted babies that Americans are having are being killed off by Donald Trump because suddenly the population of America is too large for his tiny, closed mind to handle. And the protests are already happening, it’s only a matter of time before violence is added into the mix as well. I should probably stop ranting now because I could go on forever. But lastly, I wanted to say that there is nothing wrong with you not respecting him, because as you said, he doesn’t respect you or your body so why the hell does he deserve any respect? I think you’re doing the right thing and I’m sorry your country has let you down.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

