Life Update

Hello friends,

I realize it’s been a while since I’ve posted…I’ve really missed my blog to be completely honest! I know there is a lot of ground to cover, but here’s what I want to tell you today.

Backstory: So I managed to get a job for the summer! There is some back story to this. Earlier this school year I applied for a marketing internship at my local YMCA and got accepted. For months I’ve been going around to local events taking photos, writing articles, and updating the company’s blog. My writing skills in particular were recognized, and the supervisors loved my personality and how approachable I was, so I got offered a full time job for the summer, on the marketing team.

The job description: Essentially I am in charge of parent communication, for the summer camp kids, and then get to follow the summer camps and take photos for the blogs and emails. I am then in charge of uploading these photos and distributing them to families.

Why I’m telling you this: Is it to brag? Sure, I’m very proud of myself, but bragging rights has nothing to do with it. It’s more so to show that…my whole life I’ve been dead set on doing one thing: become a genetic engineer and cure cancer. And while I still love biology and believe going into STEM is a very wise decision for my future, I realized with this unexpected opportunity and passion that I actually quite like marketing and advertising. I definitely did not see this coming, but it will impact what I decide to explore in the future and the classes I take in college. And all of this came from my quaint decision to apply for a small local position. I suppose the message here is…don’t limit yourself. Not when you’re young, not when you’re old. Try new things, even if you aren’t sure where they will lead. Because they very well could find a special place in your heart, as marketing is doing with me.

– Ro ♥

Leave a Reply

